Bruce Davis Gold Medal Examination- 2019


Dr. Angeline Yvette Mascarenhas Wins
Bruce Davis Gold Medal Examination- 2019

Dr. Angeline Yvette Mascarenhas –from St. John’s Medical College& Hospital, Bangalore has won – the Bruce Davis Gold Medal 2019- the prestigious national award for young doctors in India for their excellence in Palliative Medicine. The award will be presented during the Annual Conference of Indian Association of Palliative Care, which will be held at Guwahati in February 2020 The Bruce Davis Medal, a cash award of Rs. 25000/- and a citation will be presented to the winner.

Dr. Angeline Yvette Mascarenhas

St. John’s Medical College& Hospital, Bangalore, Karnataka

The Gold Medal is instituted by Institute of Palliative Medicine, Kozhikode, in honour of Wilfrid Bruce Davis MBE, who has been supporting palliative care movement in India from early years.

Bruce Davis Gold Medal examination has two steps to select the winner. The step I examination is a National level online screening test which comprises of 100 MCQs. Candidates who get first 5 ranks are further evaluated in the step II final examination conducted at the Institute of Palliative Medicine (WHO Collaboration Centre for Community Participation in Palliative Care and Long Term Care.

The final examination has three levels of evaluation- Theory, Assessment of Clinical Skills and Viva.

In 2019, the following candidates participated in the final examination held at Institute of Palliative Medicine, Kozhikode on 20th December 2019:

Dr. Angeline Yvette Mascaren (St. John’s Medical College& Hospital, Bangalore), Dr. Arjun D ( TIPS, Thiruvananthapuram) , Dr. Aparajeeta and Dr. Himanshi Khattar (both from SRMSIMS, Bareilly).

Dr. Lulu Mathews, Program Director, Academics, Institute of Palliative Medicine was the coordinator for Bruce Davis Gold Medal Examination . Dr. Mary Ann Muckaden from TMC Mumbai and Dr. Adinarayanan S, from JIPMER Pondicherry were the examiners.